Who requires a Japan visa?

Depending on the length of stay and nationality, either a tourist or student visa may be required:

Nationals of the following countries may not require visas for stays up to 6 months:
Austria, Germany, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Mexico.

No visa may be required for stays of 90 days or less:
Singapore, Republic of Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao, Canada, U.S.A., Argentina, Bahamas, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Rep., El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Suriname, Uruguay, Barbados, Bulgaria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Andorra, Czech Rep., Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Monaco, Poland, Australia, New Zealand, Israel, Turkey, Lesotho, Mauritius, Tunisia.

14 days or less:

Visas are highly recommended for nationals of Malaysia and Peru.

Temporarily suspended:
Bangladesh, Pakistan, Iran.

Note: Nationals of countries that have concluded visa exemption arrangements with Japan for stays of up to six months in principle are granted permission to stay in Japan for 90 days at the time of landing. Nationals of these countries who wish to stay in Japan for more than 90 days must apply at their nearest immigration authority in Japan for an extension of their period of stay.
Whether or not they hold a visa, visitors who do not possess visible means of support for their stay, onward or return tickets and other documents for their next destination may be refused entry.

Find more information directly at:

Japan Embassy

Source & Copyright: The source of the above visa and immigration information and copyright owner’s is the:
– Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Japan – URL: www.mofa.go.jp

Country : Japan
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.